Sonning Prize

Denmark's largest cultural award

The Sonning Prize is the largest cultural award in Denmark. It was founded by author and editor C.J. Sonning (1879-1937). The Prize amount is DKK 1 million and supports the promotion of European culture.

Following the wish of C.J. Sonning, a prize recipient "found to have done commendable work for the benefit of European culture", is elected by the board of the Sonning-Foundation on the recommendation of a committee under the University of Copenhagen.

The Prize is normally awarded every other year. The ceremony takes place at the University of Copenhagen – preferably on 19 April, C.J. Sonning's birthday.

The Sonning Prize 2023 will be awarded to the Serbian performance artist Marina Abramović. The award ceremony is expected to take place in the Ceremonial Hall at the University of Co​penhagen in spring 2024.

European universities may propose nominees for the Sonning Prize. The proposals must be accompanied by the nominee's CV and a list of published works, and must be submitted to:

Rector of the University of Copenhagen
Krystalgade 25
DK-1172 Copenhagen K

See list of Sonning Prize recipients